PDA

View Full Version : cant find anyone to tlk to in the evening

bigcountry183
11-18-2013, 07:40 PM
I'm fairly new to the cb world but I have a cobra 40x cb with a 102 inch whip with a polamar 225 linear and I can't find anyone to tlk too. There are a couple people every now and again but I was wondering if anyone gets on a certain channel at around the same time every night. Its just fun to chat with people I'm around the williston sc area. I have a cb in my truck right now untill I get a base setup but can talk skip pretty well.

the caveman
11-19-2013, 06:32 AM
Have you used an swr meter to make sure your setup performs as well as it can? The 40x isn't the Best radio (I found that out after getting one). Your best bet for a better talking rig cobra 25 or cobra 29 (if you are on a budget) or a galaxy, an external swr meter, and possibly a new microphone if you are using a stock microphone.

bigcountry183
11-19-2013, 04:02 PM
I know its just a radio I picked up for a little while untill I get a better one. And yes I've checked it on the swr meter and it reead pretty good. I have a road king michrophone I picked up for cheap. It sales for 60 but I got it for 15. I'm going to get a new radio pretty soon and I'm just gonna practice putting talk back and all that stuff on the one I have now

the caveman
11-19-2013, 05:05 PM
I know its just a radio I picked up for a little while untill I get a better one. And yes I've checked it on the swr meter and it reead pretty good. I have a road king michrophone I picked up for cheap. It sales for 60 but I got it for 15. I'm going to get a new radio pretty soon and I'm just gonna practice putting talk back and all that stuff on the one I have now
Good deal. The road king mics are pretty good if its the Telex Turner version. The ones that just say Telex which are the new ones arnt that great.

bigcountry183
11-19-2013, 05:27 PM