PDA

View Full Version : Hi Y'all

stang
03-14-2014, 09:38 PM
Been here lurking and learning or so I was hoping. Seems the more I read the more confused I get! lol Yep you guessed it I am new to this world. I've had stock CB's before but don't know $hit about them. I am hoping you all can teach me enough to setup a couple rigs. We (2 daughters and I) live off grid and 2 miles from it and neighbors. I want to setup a decent base station and a couple (3) mobiles. Way back here in the woods in the foot hills of Va we are going to need a bit of power to get out. I recently dug out my 06 china made cobra 29 WX and got a wilson 1000. So at this time that's all I have to work with. Been eyeing a couple galaxys the 959 and 2547. I would like to end up with all AM & SSB shit. Speaking of which I saw somewhere my 29 can have SSB added, but IDK if that was BS. Being a disabled single dad of 2 young girls my funds are limited and am hoping you can help me avoid costly mistakes.

So hoping you all can set this rookie straight. If you guys don't like newbies just say so and I'll haul A$$!

Thanks
Stang

the caveman
03-14-2014, 09:55 PM
Welcome stang. If you are needing a base the 2547 is decent. It drifts around the frequency when warming up but they perform good. You will need a good antenna up in the air so go with a Antron 99 base antenna. rightchannelradios.com sells the radio, antenna, and coax as a kit. BE SURE TO TUNE SWR'S ON ALL SETUPS!

Tallman
03-14-2014, 10:17 PM
Speaking of which I saw somewhere my 29 can have SSB added, but IDK if that was BS. If you guys don't like newbies just say so and I'll haul A$$!

Thanks
Stang

You were being totally BS'd about adding SSB to an AM only radio. We were all NEWBIES at one time or another. I was a Newbie in 1968. We try to teach with out the Preach!

stang
03-14-2014, 10:31 PM
Hey thanks you guys!