PDA

View Full Version : Cobra 29wxnwst I know I shouldn't

stang
03-15-2014, 10:34 PM
But I thought I might put a swing kit my my cobra. I can't resist tinkering around with things. And hey the kit was 6.50 free delivery. That's a lot less than the gas would have cost to drive to Radioshack.

To tell the truth I've never tried working on a radio before. This looks like a simple parts swapping job though. I'm probably wrong about that but I hope not.

If any of you have any pointers now would be a nice time to share them.

Stang

stang
03-15-2014, 11:02 PM
Forgot to mention the kit is actually for a 29LTD my radio is a 29wxnwst. From what I have read they are the same parts though. Anybody know if thats right or wrong?

Thanks
Stang

Tallman
03-15-2014, 11:44 PM
The best advice I can give is be gentle with the circuit boards when de-soldering the parts you take out. Pressing harder with the soldering iron will not make work any faster. Have a sponge next to the iron damp with water, drag the iron tip across the sponge lightly and rotate it a bit so it cleans all the way around. Then put a little new solder(Tinning) on the tip so you have good heat transfer to the joint you are working on. Solder suckers work okay but sometimes you still need de-soldering braid to clear the solder away. Watch some videos on Youtube and you should get a good idea. Double check your work and be careful not to leave any solder debris inside the radio.

stang
03-16-2014, 09:59 AM
Thanks Tallman

I just can't resist modifying things. Don't know why, just the way I am I guess. Of course I also like learning new things.