PDA

View Full Version : shockwave 5/8 coming

stan
06-28-2014, 01:50 AM
Hi to all first time post. my trusty old Station Master broke in a nasty storm here in Adelaide
wondering what to buy so went for the Shockwave 5/8 antenna, never had one of these antennas
before have read a few posts on the net about them they seem to do the job. been a long time since
have worked 27mgz use to been very keen operator 20 years ago they were the days you could talk skip on a piece of string, interstate and international was great have heaps of qsl cards from all over the world so my first question is when is the skip coming back and my other question is about my new antenna is whats the best height for my 5/8 my Station Master was on a 20 ft poll would this be ok
regards Stan

Gerowen
06-28-2014, 02:37 PM
Welcome, :-)

I'm kind of new to the hobby myself, so I'm always learning something new. I live in eastern Kentucky and go by 323 when shooting skip. Locally everybody calls me Retro. In the evening I hang out on 3 AM with the locals. When I'm shooting skip I spend most of my time on 38 LSB so I don't have to fight with the mess of carrier waves on AM.

In regards to your antenna, I'm running a Solarcon A-99 on a 24 foot pole and it has worked great for me here in the mountains of eastern Kentucky. I've talked to Ireland when conditions were good, and I can talk to a lot of local people that others can't. I'm not an expert, and realize that the things around you have an effect, but I would think that 20 foot pole would be fine.

SOHC
09-30-2014, 02:26 AM
The 5/8 wave MK1 station master is the best antenna ever I am told, I have made 2 of them, you can make one with simple hand tools, vice, drill hacksaw, file, pop riveter, hammer, tuning is the hand part.

JesseJamesDallas
09-30-2014, 06:14 PM
Hi to all first time post. my trusty old Station Master broke in a nasty storm here in Adelaide