PDA

View Full Version : dual antennas

SPRINTERLIGHT
07-29-2015, 01:57 AM
Hello Everybody!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have two antennas that I would like to mount on my roof 1 homemade jpole and a 17.5 vertical?????
Is it possible to use the two antennas and switch back and forth. I also have 2 radios President hr2510 and a Grant xl that I would like to be able to switch back and forth. There should be a way to do this without having to run 2 coaxial lines , at least I hope there is. I hope this is not dumb idea as I am new to this hobby and need a push in the right direction.
Hope to hear from someone \ anyone soon
Thanks

Tallman
07-29-2015, 10:23 AM

I have two antennas that I would like to mount on my roof 1 homemade jpole and a 17.5 vertical?????
Is it possible to use the two antennas and switch back and forth. I also have 2 radios President hr2510 and a Grant xl that I would like to be able to switch back and forth. There should be a way to do this without having to run 2 coaxial lines , at least I hope there is. I hope this is not dumb idea as I am new to this hobby and need a push in the right direction.
Thanks A coaxial switch is what you are looking for. I would be very very careful switching radios with them. You could send a full power signal right into the receive of the radio and smoke it.

SPRINTERLIGHT
08-05-2015, 02:27 AM
OK I don't want to smoke any radios. I still don't understand how you use two antennas without running another coaxial cable

Tallman
08-05-2015, 08:16 AM
You have to have a coaxial cable for each antenna.(2) Those go in to the switch with one coax going to the radio.

SPRINTERLIGHT
08-05-2015, 02:07 PM
Two cables is what I thought would work. Someone told me it could be done with one cable ( wisfhfull thinking )
Thanks for the input Tallman

222DBFL
08-05-2015, 07:39 PM