PDA

View Full Version : Heathkit SB-200 not modded or altered. Wanting to use on 11-meter

mattsowders1989
09-13-2016, 05:18 PM
i have a Heathkit SB-200 linear that has not been modded in any way. I want to use it on my cb. half the info i have read online tells me that it will operate just fine in the 10-meter position, the other half says it has to be modded. i am honestly scared to just hook it up and try it without knowing what im doing. any at all info would be greatly, greatly appreciated. Thanks DXer's!!!

mattsowders1989
09-14-2016, 11:56 PM
Anyone at all? I'd really like to use this amp. I just don't know what needs to be done.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

222DBFL
09-15-2016, 04:45 AM
Keep the input low. Keep the dead key into amp as well as PEP wattage low. Tune and load it for 11m. And give it a try. If it's able to go to 10m, it should work on 11m. I am no amp expert and don't own one of them, but have seen many Yaseu FT101's converted and the matching amps used as well on 11m. As far as I know the amp didn't have to be modded. Before you go doing anything, use Google and see what comes up. Just sayin. But I would venture to say it would work. Like I said, keep the input to a minimum. JMHO.

mattsowders1989
09-15-2016, 08:27 AM
Thanks 222! The input is dead keying at 5 watts. The problem is, I can't get the amp to kick in and when I do key up, the meddle pegs out in the RF PWR position. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I saw one person who mentioned a key relay mod. I don't really know what that is. I have always used solid state amps.

222DBFL
09-15-2016, 06:23 PM
Yes, you may have to use a key relay mod. I saw that mentioned on doing some research. You'll need a good amp tech for that if you aren't familiar with that amp. It's an HV amp and can kill you!! So don't stick your hands in it!! I would take it out of line if it's not keying up and don't damage it. JMHO.

mattsowders1989
09-15-2016, 06:25 PM