PDA

View Full Version : Homemade quarter-wave ground plane base antenna

mattsowders1989
09-24-2016, 04:33 AM
1.3:1 across all 40 channels. Any Pointers? Its my first build. Any advice would be great. Its about 30Ft in the air

222DBFL
09-24-2016, 11:29 AM
Pic is not showing up Matt. Can you post another?

222DBFL
09-24-2016, 11:30 AM
Never mind it showed up.

222DBFL
09-24-2016, 12:52 PM
Man if you don't have bad weather conditions and wind, a Sirio vector 4000 would work well for you! Mount it about 25-30ft off the ground right where that antenna is now and you will have one nice vertical antenna.
If the one you have up now works, then by all means use it! But be weary of running any power through it just in case. JMHO.

222DBFL
09-25-2016, 06:23 AM
Also a 1:1 matching balun may help you. This will match the impedance if there is any mismatch as your radio wants to not only see a good or decent VSWR reading, but also wants to see the correct impedance, which is 50ohms or near that. 48-52 ohms is a good area. Just some food for thought. The antenna looks good and should work well. Just don't want to see you mess up any of your radios due to impedance mismatch is all. A 1:1 matching balun will help, or slant your radials down more toward a 45 degree angle to the center radial. Again, not trying to tell you what to do, just trying to help is all. I truly hope that the antenna works well. Also you may want to look into building a dipole and hanging it between 2 trees if possible. Get it up to 30ft or more and it will rock!!! But your antenna looks good and should work well for local and DX as well. It's fun building antennas, but you need an antenna analyzer to tune them correctly. Something like an MFJ 269C or similar. Keep at it. And have fun. That is what it's all about!! And. E safe as well!!! Have a good day!!

Jay Mojave
09-25-2016, 02:11 PM