PDA

View Full Version : Rf interference issue



Erik 747
02-02-2018, 08:30 AM
Hello All,
Just wondering if anyone has any ideas in knocking out the 7 dbs of interference through my base station. Thanks in advance!
Erik 747

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-02-2018, 09:27 AM
It all depends what and where itís coming from. Either get a mobile cb to chase the RF interference around or a wallow talkie and walk around with it until you can find source of issue. You may have to call local power company or even cable company but donít look for any help there LOL!! Know before you call is what I mean I guess. Also you can start in your own house if you think it could be something in it that is causing the issue/s. The only other thing I could recommend is to read. Look at this site as well as many others.
http://audiosystemsgroup.com/Ferrites-Ham.pdf
Also a noise bridge may work. MFJ makes one, as well as other companies. Prices start at $80 for the small ones. Here is a pic of one
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180202/b111f07316b3b42e1f02a8bff8c47878.jpg

222DBFL
02-02-2018, 09:30 AM
Should have called it antenna phasing and noise cancelling device. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180202/a978747f79852134cc6c16b07b4698af.jpg

Erik 747
02-02-2018, 10:11 AM
Should have called it antenna phasing and noise cancelling device. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180202/a978747f79852134cc6c16b07b4698af.jpgThanks again! I'll look into this.

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-02-2018, 03:12 PM
No worries. Not guaranteed to totally work, but read about what one does. Good stuff to learn about anyhow. Have a great one.

Erik 747
02-04-2018, 03:45 PM
No worries. Not guaranteed to totally work, but read about what one does. Good stuff to learn about anyhow. Have a great one.That is very good info. Thanks again! I discovered that when I touch or move the coax where it plugs into the radio, the needle is all over the place. Now I'm wondering if it's the radio or coax? I have my back up radio plugged in...when I touch the coax the needle stays steady. Steady being at between 1 and 2 dbs, which I can live with. If you have any thoughts please share.
Thanx

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-04-2018, 06:16 PM
Check your coax for sure. If you can remake the end, do it. It may be your issue. Or you have a radio with something loose. I would venture to say itís the coax connector. Just my thoughts though. Have a good one and hope you get the issue resolved.

222DBFL
02-05-2018, 07:26 PM
Any luck finding your issue with the noise. Also I was going to suggest that you look into a good ground system and also a good surge arrestor before your coax enters the radio shack or whatever room you are using. Read up on how commercial cell tower me are built and youíll get a good idea of what is really needed to make a solid base station setup. Just some food for thought. I been retired for a couple years and now I certify aircraft instrumentation. Cool stuff. But I miss my old job as a cell site tech and installer. At any rate, keep is updated on how and if you got your noise issue resolved. Good day

Erik 747
02-05-2018, 07:40 PM
Any luck finding your issue with the noise. Also I was going to suggest that you look into a good ground system and also a good surge arrestor before your coax enters the radio shack or whatever room you are using. Read up on how commercial cell tower me are built and youíll get a good idea of what is really needed to make a solid base station setup. Just some food for thought. I been retired for a couple years and now I certify aircraft instrumentation. Cool stuff. But I miss my old job as a cell site tech and installer. At any rate, keep is updated on how and if you got your noise issue resolved. Good dayHello, I found out that whenever I touch or wiggle the coax at the rear of the radio, the s meter climbs dramatically. I tried to resolder the coax connector within the radio. Seems like it helped....but it's not 100%.

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-05-2018, 08:37 PM
I would replace the coax connector itself. Get a good amphenol one off eBay. Not expensive. Just make sure you get one that is made for your coax and has the correct back piece that screws into the front part of the connector. They range in size a bit. Good luck and hope you get it resolved.

Erik 747
02-05-2018, 09:14 PM
I would replace the coax connector itself. Get a good amphenol one off eBay. Not expensive. Just make sure you get one that is made for your coax and has the correct back piece that screws into the front part of the connector. They range in size a bit. Good luck and hope you get it resolved.I bought rg8x coax is that even a good one to use?


Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-06-2018, 01:08 AM
Yes, RG8X is just fine for runs under 100ft. Also donít push a lot of power through it. You can get amphenol connectors off eBay for that coax with the proper screw in back part. If you order them youíll see what I am speaking of when I am taking about the connectors and fitment of them. It definitely wonít hurt to check the connectors and make sure they are soldered in correctly and are tight.

mjd420nova
02-06-2018, 07:45 PM
I have spent an inordinate amount of time and money with some clients/customers trying to locate these kinds of interference. My fist step is to always suspect the coax, most commonly the outside terminations. Intermittent grounds and corroded connections the first and most common fault I've found. Now I usually ask "How long has this installation been in place" as the age will guide me to re-terminating all connectors, wrapping them with electricians tape and silicone sealer for the outside connections. Inside connections are the most prone to having the ground become intermittent, don't know why but they get the most attention from me.

Erik 747
02-06-2018, 08:09 PM
I have spent an inordinate amount of time and money with some clients/customers trying to locate these kinds of interference. My fist step is to always suspect the coax, most commonly the outside terminations. Intermittent grounds and corroded connections the first and most common fault I've found. Now I usually ask "How long has this installation been in place" as the age will guide me to re-terminating all connectors, wrapping them with electricians tape and silicone sealer for the outside connections. Inside connections are the most prone to having the ground become intermittent, don't know why but they get the most attention from me.Hello, thanks for the input. I tried looking up my old radio and seemed to work fine with wiggling the coax at the rear of the radio. Although, on my Galaxy, if I wiggle the s meter goes crazy. I tried resoldering the female connection within the radio. Do you think I need a new female connector in the radio?

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

Erik 747
02-06-2018, 08:28 PM
Hello, thanks for the input. I tried looking up my old radio and seemed to work fine with wiggling the coax at the rear of the radio. Although, on my Galaxy, if I wiggle the s meter goes crazy. I tried resoldering the female connection within the radio. Do you think I need a new female connector in the radio?

Sent from my Z981 using TapatalkAlso the s meter doesn't work on side band. Does that have anything to do with this issue? Thanks in advance


Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-06-2018, 10:22 PM
When you say doesnít work? Does it not do anything when you key the mic? If so this is normal. Side band doesnít throw a carrier like AM mode does. Only when you modulate (talk into mic), is when you youíll see the S-meter move. If itís on the receive side that the S-meter doesnít work, then you may have an issue. Also, on SSB, you donít want to try to measure VSWR. Perform this on AM mode. You want the radio to key up 3-5 Watts on AM mode to test VSWR. And donít forget to turn the mic gain down and calibrate the meter if needed. Hope some of the stupid text wall help man. Have a good one and like said, Check those connectors!!! Good day.

Erik 747
02-07-2018, 07:26 AM
When you say doesnít work? Does it not do anything when you key the mic? If so this is normal. Side band doesnít throw a carrier like AM mode does. Only when you modulate (talk into mic), is when you youíll see the S-meter move. If itís on the receive side that the S-meter doesnít work, then you may have an issue. Also, on SSB, you donít want to try to measure VSWR. Perform this on AM mode. You want the radio to key up 3-5 Watts on AM mode to test VSWR. And donít forget to turn the mic gain down and calibrate the meter if needed. Hope some of the stupid text wall help man. Have a good one and like said, Check those connectors!!! Good day.Good morning,
It seems to be on the receive end unfortunately. The meter seems to work otherwise am, fm etc... just not SSB.

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-07-2018, 01:28 PM
That is a weird one. What radio is it doing this on?

Erik 747
02-07-2018, 01:29 PM
That is a weird one. What radio is it doing this on?Galaxy dx99v2

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-07-2018, 05:30 PM
That is weird. So it does work on all other modes. If you google galaxy dx99v2 S meter issues, you should get a hit for cbtricks.com that has a good base of info and trouble shooting guide. Sorry I canít be of more help. Hope you get it resolved

Erik 747
02-07-2018, 05:39 PM
That is weird. So it does work on all other modes. If you google galaxy dx99v2 S meter issues, you should get a hit for cbtricks.com that has a good base of info and trouble shooting guide. Sorry I canít be of more help. Hope you get it resolvedIt is a weird issue. In all other modes it works. This is where the needle sits at all times with the RF noise. Could that be somewhat normal for most people?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180207/b95f13dee0fa59d055967a04313e2303.jpg

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-07-2018, 09:21 PM
Yep that is normal if you are sure you have a good connection. I have had days that I could not talk across town the noise level was so bad. Many things can and will affect RF noise. Placing a horizontal beam antenna up helps with this, but you lose some of your local distance. Anyhow, as long as you can talk and hear people on SSB then I wouldnít stress too much about the RF meter. There hasnít been much traffic on SSB lately as far as I know. DX wise that is. Itís very sporadic. Again, hopefully you can come across someone else that has had this issue. Also you may not have enough noise on SSB to make the S meter move. I know I have not lately. Here is mine on SSB versus AM. Note the same frequency is used and there is hardly any noise on SSB, but the same frequency on AM has a bit of noise. This may be all that you are dealing with. Maybe not. I try LOL. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180208/078f8bfe52aba9d0e0a01c014eae03aa.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180208/9adb1d0ddebb84018db0373c65b9cd8d.jpg

Erik 747
02-07-2018, 09:38 PM
Yep that is normal if you are sure you have a good connection. I have had days that I could not talk across town the noise level was so bad. Many things can and will affect RF noise. Placing a horizontal beam antenna up helps with this, but you lose some of your local distance. Anyhow, as long as you can talk and hear people on SSB then I wouldnít stress too much about the RF meter. There hasnít been much traffic on SSB lately as far as I know. DX wise that is. Itís very sporadic. Again, hopefully you can come across someone else that has had this issue. Also you may not have enough noise on SSB to make the S meter move. I know I have not lately. Here is mine on SSB versus AM. Note the same frequency is used and there is hardly any noise on SSB, but the same frequency on AM has a bit of noise. This may be all that you are dealing with. Maybe not. I try LOL. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180208/078f8bfe52aba9d0e0a01c014eae03aa.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180208/9adb1d0ddebb84018db0373c65b9cd8d.jpgWell, that makes me feel a whole lot better! I think if I don't play around with the coax connection at all, it will make a difference. Just trying to build the perfect radio. Lol!!
You have a great rig, by the way. Thanks again for your input! Talk to you soon


Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-07-2018, 10:07 PM
No worries. I was really into SSB DX, but as of late itís been about non existent.
Anyhow. Hope you get everything working how you want it! 73 and God Bless.

Erik 747
02-09-2018, 08:18 PM
No worries. I was really into SSB DX, but as of late itís been about non existent.
Anyhow. Hope you get everything working how you want it! 73 and God Bless.Hello again, just a quick one for ya. The interference gets bad at certain times like right now(8pm and on). Wanted to see if you had any feedback. Thanks

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

Erik 747
02-09-2018, 08:41 PM
Hello again, just a quick one for ya. The interference gets bad at certain times like right now(8pm and on). Wanted to see if you had any feedback. Thanks

Sent from my Z981 using TapatalkHere it is Argh!https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180210/4016d65126744c3a8c31dc1b9f8a93e4.jpg

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk

222DBFL
02-10-2018, 12:58 AM
It could well be something in your house that gets turn s on at night. Or it could be someone elseís electronics that are causing your issue. You have close neighbors? And if so, if your antenna mounted near their house? Also, if the noise is about every night, I would walk around and see what could be causing it like a street light that comes on at a certain time, or even someoneís security lights that work at night. There is about an endless list of things that could be causing it. I would first check anything in your home first. Something you would turn on at night like a porch light. Things like this will cause you a major headache if itís not on your property!! Trust me I had issues like this for a long time!! Finally figured out where it was coming from, but not the actual source of the issue. Sucks!!

222DBFL
02-13-2018, 10:28 AM
Also make sure sure you have a solid ground system. Read up on proper grounding of a radio base station. It should give you a good idea as to what is needed for a solid ground system. Also if possible I would change out the connector or connectors that are or were giving you trouble. May not seem like a big deal, but youíd be surprised how it can affect your signal and also how well your radio operates. Lastly installing a dipole or some type of beam or moxon antenna for less ground noise. Takes away from a little of your local talk, but should have less noise than a vertical antenna. It takes time to set everything up the right way. When you do youíll see the different little things make in the end. Hope this helps and keep at it!!

Erik 747
02-14-2018, 11:28 PM
Also make sure sure you have a solid ground system. Read up on proper grounding of a radio base station. It should give you a good idea as to what is needed for a solid ground system. Also if possible I would change out the connector or connectors that are or were giving you trouble. May not seem like a big deal, but youíd be surprised how it can affect your signal and also how well your radio operates. Lastly installing a dipole or some type of beam or moxon antenna for less ground noise. Takes away from a little of your local talk, but should have less noise than a vertical antenna. It takes time to set everything up the right way. When you do youíll see the different little things make in the end. Hope this helps and keep at it!!Thanks for your help! I think that I have it under control for the most part. Still have some learning to do as well. LoL!
73 Erik 747

Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk