PDA

View Full Version : New guy setting up a CB/ antenna question



Logan123
10-16-2019, 04:56 PM
Hey guys -

I'm new to the CB world and have a question.
I have a Uniden CB mounted in my truck with dual Firestick KW antennas on the bed of my F150. When I check the cb with the SWR meter it shows all maxed out readings every time I key the mic. I did some research and I'm thinking the issue may be with my antennas. I did not mount them using the mounting brackets that they came with. I just drilled a hole threw the bed of the truck (behind the back window) and tightened them there. See attached pic.

Should I have used the mounts? Could this be an issue with not grounding the antennas properly?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Logan

222DBFL
10-16-2019, 06:47 PM
Appears you have them mounted to the plastic railing that is your Bed-liner. You need to get them mounted directly to metal and not the plastic. Keep the setup as it is, but you need to get them onto some metal as that is how they see ground. Even if you use the mounting brackets, youíll still need to get them to a proper ground. That is most likely the issue from what I can see in the pics anyhow.

whiteastro
10-17-2019, 07:21 AM
From what I see it looks like the antennas don't really stick above the cab very much and that could mess with your SWR also. I think I would try to get the base of the antennas at least even with the top of the cab, but I'm sure the more experienced junkies will chime in. Good luck!

nosaj
10-17-2019, 09:25 PM
Another thing to consider is if the antennas are co-phased, Your cb will be directional just like a semi-truck. Your pattern will be forwards and backwards. Go to one antenna and you will be omnidirectional. The co-phased is good for interstate traffic, not so much in the back woods.

nosaj
N1EBC

JesseJamesDallas
10-17-2019, 09:27 PM
Everything is wrong with your antenna set-up!

I'm not going to sugar coat things but....

antenna's too short to get any range.

antenna's too close together to tune properly...not enough space between antennas to co-phase.

when setting up dual antenna's like you have, you need to be using a 75ohm co-phase wiring harness (if your not already)

most likely you have the antenna's grounded out to the bed of the truck by not using a antenna mount.

antennas too close to cab to tune properly.

If you want a antenna system that will tune properly, and be able to reach out and talk 10-20 miles plus, then you will need a antenna that is at least 6.5 to 7' tall minium, and it needs to be roof mounted...If you don't want to do that, or can't for whatever reason, then don't expect much out of your radio...

BOOTY MONSTER
10-18-2019, 09:11 AM
".... Everything is wrong with your antenna set-up!

I'm not going to sugar coat things but.... ...."

JJD you're a horrible person ! you should be more like me and always go to extremes to avoid offending someone or hurting their feelings ! :300 (177):

JesseJamesDallas
10-18-2019, 07:00 PM
".... Everything is wrong with your antenna set-up!

I'm not going to sugar coat things but.... ...."

JJD you're a horrible person ! you should be more like me and always go to extremes to avoid offending someone or hurting their feelings ! :300 (177):
Guess I been watching too many Trump Rallies! No beating around the bush.:grin:

source
10-20-2019, 08:03 AM
Should have used a different ant maybe a Stryker 10,000W CB/10 Meter Magnet Mount Radio Antenna /w 63" Stainless Whip.i have friend has one perfrom better than the wilson 1000 and 5000.there are more which ii could mention but this works very well

pic2381

222DBFL
10-20-2019, 05:56 PM
The Siri performer 5000 and pl145 mag mount served me very well on my old work truck. Talked SSB 11m around the world while driving down the highway. Listen to these gents as they know their stuff!!

whiteastro
10-20-2019, 06:06 PM
I just installed a K40 with a magnet mount on top of my van roof and get really good SWR readings across the band and it is suppose to handle 300 watts. I got it from Walmart .com for less than $100.00 and a 1/4 turn dismounts it from the magnetic base for those low canopies and garages. But then again everyone has different demands from their antenna system. I don't think I'll ever need more than 300 watts and I didn't break the bank!

BOOTY MONSTER
10-20-2019, 07:25 PM
going to a couple hundred watts makes a big difference . to get a similar bump from there takes a couple thousand watts , and typically alternator and battery additions .

222DBFL
10-20-2019, 08:27 PM
Be careful of the female to pl259 connector on the end of your coax for that antenna. Itís a known issue. Had one go out on me, replaced it with a proper PL259 connector.