PDA

View Full Version : This might be of interest and good for discussion!

whiteastro
05-09-2020, 04:13 PM
Found this article on the internet and thought some might like to read it and throw in their 2 cents. Didn't sound like the guy was well educated on the subject to me, but I'm no expert either! Have fun!

https://thetravelinsider.info/2003/0815.htm

JesseJamesDallas
05-09-2020, 05:05 PM
Didn't read the whole article...(mainly because I have little to no experience with the other type radios) But what he had to say in regards to CB, sounded pretty much right on the money...(with maybe a exception to the "ideal" length of a cb antenna being 15'...not sure where he came up with that figure but 21-24' I would agree with)

whiteastro
05-09-2020, 05:35 PM
Didn't read the whole article...(mainly because I have little to no experience with the other type radios) But what he had to say in regards to CB, sounded pretty much right on the money...(with maybe a exception to the "ideal" length of a cb antenna being 15'...not sure where he came up with that figure but 21-24' I would agree with)
Yes the 15' had me scratching my head also and wondering where he got his info from. But anyway some guys talk about using other radios besides CB so it is a source of info. I do use the other radios for Hunting radios and they do have their good points ( Quite ) and bad points ( Range ) Mostly range is affected by our Hills & Trees!

Foxtrot
05-11-2020, 01:51 AM
Part 4 of the article goes into talking about murs which is a game changer. Channels 1-5 are near what 2 meter ham is also its 2 watts of power.

whiteastro
05-11-2020, 06:26 AM
murs is the only one I haven't dabbled in so I don't know much about it, but 2 watts doesn't seem like much. But it looks like a good google search option for a slow day. Ham is starting to interest me a little but first I'm going to change the location of my M400 Star Duster antenna and raise it to the Max my coax will allow.

mjd420nova