PDA

View Full Version : no ground plane coax

nino
08-16-2012, 07:07 PM
I have a new vehicle with a fiberglass roof. I bought a lil wil and cannot get any betta than 1.5 to 1, so i want to go to a no ground plane antenna. my question is this: is a ngp coax no more than an 18 ft piece of coax with a different connector setup? This is what it seems to b and i need to know if anyone has any expertise in this area.

whitestick
08-16-2012, 10:09 PM
no ground plane coax ??? - well thas a new one on me - and i have been doing this and ham for 30+ years - can we have pictures of this "new " type of coax please - sounds like snake oil to me

there is no such thing - what they are doing is "tuning " the antenna AGAINST the coax - using the BRAID as a form of counterpoise - NOT GOOD !! - yes it will work - but at best a compromise solution and certainly not really effective

you say fiberglass roof on your vehicle ??? - i take it the rest is metal ?? - what sort of vehicle ?? car - RV - truck ??? - please specify

what sort of mounting are you using ??

come back with the above and i may be able to advise - as i used to run a fibeglass vehicle AND cb many years ago:ranger:

nino
08-16-2012, 10:31 PM
it is a 2011 mitsubishi outlander. i used a setup somewhat similar to this with a pontiac transport and got a great match, but i used regular coax and the little plastic insulators so the ground was not actively hooked up. now wilson and francis have ngp antenna kits and supposedly regular coax wont work. my lil wil is on a 4 in wide band of steel around the tailgateand gets a 1.6 match, but that is too high for my toy which is why i am after a lower match.

doughboy
08-17-2012, 05:28 AM
What is the steel band grounded to anything can it be grounded to the frame so the antenna can use the frame as a groundplane a strap is probably not enough still just kind of a counterpoise situation

nino
08-17-2012, 09:52 AM