PDA

View Full Version : New guy needs help

drafterruss
04-03-2013, 09:39 AM
Hi everyone. I am new to the hobby and just found a new used base unit and some other items. See My info for the list please. What else should I pick up? Zoning will not let me have a full sized antenna mast so I am making a brakect to hang my 102" whip out a second story window to clear the eves and such. Please offer any input or ideas. Thanks a lot , Russ

High Voltage Mobile NJ
04-03-2013, 01:32 PM
sounds good so far . it brings back memories for me . :peace:

drafterruss
04-03-2013, 02:08 PM
Thank you. Would you suggest adding anything?

drafterruss
04-03-2013, 02:09 PM
Does anyone know how many watts my 625 should be putting out?

High Voltage Mobile NJ
04-03-2013, 02:31 PM
is that a Royce 625 ?

High Voltage Mobile NJ
04-03-2013, 02:33 PM
Hi everyone. I am new to the hobby and just found a new used base unit and some other items. See My info for the list please. What else should I pick up? Zoning will not let me have a full sized antenna mast so I am making a brakect to hang my 102" whip out a second story window to clear the eves and such. Please offer any input or ideas. Thanks a lot , Russ use at least 18 feet of coax to the antenna. and make sure the whip is at least 2 feet away from the building , you might have to angle it away from the building to get them SWR'S down.

drafterruss
04-03-2013, 02:54 PM
Thank you so much. What should my swr be? It's a Royce 625 xl

BOOTY MONSTER
04-03-2013, 03:15 PM
don't worry about a particular length of coax . but you will need a ground plane for that antenna or another 102 under it in the ground side like a dipole . i'll suggest a coax choke where the coax connects to the antenna also . a vswr of 1.5 or less is perfectly fine .

this link will explain coax chokes .....

http://www.deepsouthradios.com/forum/showthread.php?414-coax-choke-info

High Voltage Mobile NJ
04-03-2013, 03:22 PM