View Full Version : Alpha 10 Max

10-19-2016, 03:24 PM
So, I got one of these Radios a couple weeks ago. But, it has an issue. I've gone in the Radio program menu and turned off the TNS and TES which turns on/off the talkback. It still has talkback after turning them both off. Anyone got a clue how to fix this? I don't want or use these features. Can't use Radio for the feedback.

10-21-2016, 12:28 PM
Try a ferrite choke on the mic. And also one on your internal and external speaker. Might help.

10-21-2016, 12:30 PM
Or is talkback just not disabling at all? Meaning when you turn it off or all the way down it's still way loud? If so you may need to read the manual again as to how to make it truly turn off. Or maybe a reset of the CPU. Just some food for thought.

10-23-2016, 10:29 AM
It's not disabling at all. Talkback is software controlled. On or off is the only choice. When I turn it off it still has talkback and it causes bad feedback. Beats me what to do now. 73's

10-24-2016, 04:03 AM
Maybe a bad component. Also have you tried lowering your mic Gain to see if there is any change. Reason why I am asking all this is i have a radio that doesn't have talkback and I get transmit that comes through the external speaker. Not loud, but noticeable. This only happens with amplified speakers as well. So if you are using amplified external speakers that may be another thing to look into. Also see if you can track down the schematic and find the talkback circuit. Might be able to disable it totally this way.
Lastly, if the radio is new and still under warranty, send it back ASAP with a note explaining what is happening. They may have either a firmware or software fix for it or they will replace the components or the radio.
Hope you get it resolved. I am not a fan of talkback myself! Rather use another radio for monitoring myself. Good luck and again, hope you get it resolved!!

10-24-2016, 04:22 AM
Never mind on the warranty unless where you bought it from has one offered on it.
Also have checked to make sure you have the PA mode off. This will create a similar issue as the one you are seeing. It's the same as the talkback. Can be enabled or disabled through menu. And if you bought the radio used might it be possible that someone performed the louder talk back mod and now this is why you can disable it? May have been done wrong. Yes there is a mod to increase the loudness of the talkback! Must not be loud enough out of the box. Don't own one so hard for me to say LOL! Just trying to help. Here is a pic from the service manual as to how to increase or decrease the talkback by adding a resistor. This might help you get the talkback level down or doable it completely. Found this here
Hope you get it working the way you want. Also looking at the back of the radio, make sure your antenna connection wire is soldered on well. A cold solder joint or a plain out bad one or even a partially broken one from the SO239 spinning. I've seen some that are like this, and it will cause some feedback issues as well. Again, hope you get it resolved. Maybe read the menu for any other things needed to do to get talk back truly disabled. Good luck and be safe!!

10-24-2016, 05:06 AM
I would think that a resistor change to a different value would decrease the talkback mod. If you look at the pic I posted you will see what is stock and may be able to see if the one in there is the same or if it has been altered. Or you can try disabling it completely as I said also. I am just not fond of talkback! It isn't even what you really sound like on air! But anyways. Again l, hope you get it resolved!!!

10-24-2016, 03:00 PM
Radio's in remarkably good shape and no t/b mod has been done. I've never cared for t/b in any radio I've had. Always been a pain for this very reason (feedback). Thanks for all the effort on your part. Might have to get it to a shop to see if they can disable it on this SMT board. Hey... hope ya made it through the storm ok. 73's

10-24-2016, 03:07 PM
Radio has no mic gain on front panel. I find that to be a bit odd. External speaker in non amplified, also. Been looking at the schematic today but, my electronics knowledge is somewhat weak. 73's

10-24-2016, 08:24 PM
No worries. I am certainly no tech myself by any means that is for sure! I am sure a tech would look at and find the issue pretty quickly. Sucks to have to send it out, but it's the best thing you can do IMO.

10-25-2016, 11:24 AM
And yes sir we managed just fine actually. Just a lot of debris I had to pick up. Very strong winds! I took my Sirio vector down the day before it hit after having using guyed ropes all around it. Just didn't want it to break and become a piece of flying debris! But in my haste to take it down it came down much quicker than I wanted it to after just cutting the mast at about 20ft up leaving about an 8ft section of pipe and a 27+ foot antenna LOL. But I was able to bend it back and now I am going to relocate it as I don't have as many large tree branches to contend with. Or may just add another large pipe to the 2 2" mast pipes already bolted to thMy local pal had a very large oak tree fall onto his guyed wires on one side of his tower and ended up taking it down. An 85ft 18" ROHN HD tower man. Twisted like a pretzel at the base. But I did okay with cutting my antenna down. Just have to get a new mast pipe which I already have sitting at a friends house. Going with a 40ft push up pole this go round. Set it at 30ft and have an 8ft extension already made up. So I will be pretty tall at 35-38ft to the base of the antenna. Antenna is almost 28ft long so it will be up pretty high to the tip! Be close to 70ft to the tip.
Anyhow. Again, I hope you get your radio fixed and the talkback issue resolved! Get it removed LOL! Just joking. Have a good one.