preps
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 11m-10m conversion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    petal ms
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 112 Times in 40 Posts
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0

    11m-10m conversion

    Anyone know how to converta 11m comp. style amp to 10m?
    QUACKA QUACKA FOR A MUD DUCK CHECK QUACK QUACK

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 207 Times in 95 Posts
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    I don't think conversion is necessary.
    All answers are opinions and may, or may not be technically correct.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    RICHMOND VA.
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    308
    Thanked 199 Times in 125 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    if by comp. amp you mean a class C sold as a competition CB amp , and typically over driven to become a splatter box ...... they will cover many Mhz including 10-11-12 meters with no modification needed . please try to run it clean so you only transmit on one channel at a time .
    Last edited by BOOTY MONSTER; 09-16-2014 at 12:49 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    petal ms
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 112 Times in 40 Posts
    Downloads
    2
    Uploads
    0
    I will and do so now. Unless I'm bad wrong not putting 50+ watts drive to it and using GOOD coax should minimize the bleed over shouldn't it? Just about to get a super star 158EDX that will do both 10 and 11m and thought I would need two diferent boxes for the different bands. I'm getting a separate antenna for the 10m. Will be another macov5/8 like the one I use now but will tune it for 10m. They will be about 100' apart on opisite sides of the yard with the coaxes run to a switch box so all I have to do is flip the sw. when going from one to the other. Thanks for the help. 73s Karl
    QUACKA QUACKA FOR A MUD DUCK CHECK QUACK QUACK

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    RICHMOND VA.
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    308
    Thanked 199 Times in 125 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    if you get a gainmaster it's broad banded enough to cover 10 and 11 meters by itself . much simpler ............

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Fresno Area
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Just get a antenna tuner and use one antenna

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 207 Times in 95 Posts
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    The class "C" amps sound like crap on SSB. Be sure you run LOW PASS FILTERS. One before the amp and one after the amp. Remember Garbage in Garbage out!
    All answers are opinions and may, or may not be technically correct.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Tallman For This Useful Post:

    BOOTY MONSTER (09-18-2014)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    West coast
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 77 Times in 39 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    The entire transmission system, from amplifier output connector to the antenna should be as short as possible. Forget the attempt to match wavelength, the gain isn't enough to matter. Tune the antenna to get the best match, 1 to 1 if possible. Then use a low pass filter backed up with a tunable filter and you'll be as clean as possible. Ragged amps can create so many harmonics that a clean SWR is impossible.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 207 Times in 95 Posts
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mjd420nova View Post
    Ragged amps can create so many harmonics that a clean SWR is impossible.
    That's why the experienced technicians "NEVER" tune with the amplifier in line. If it is tuned at four watts it will still be tuned at 400 watts. You are tuning for the frequency not the power. Low pass filter before the amp and one after the amp will keep your signal clean. Unless you overdrive it.
    All answers are opinions and may, or may not be technically correct.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    West coast
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 77 Times in 39 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes, tuning the antenna at normal wattage (4 W) to achieve the best SWR is the first step. Transceiver and amp should be tuned to a dummy load before switching to the antenna(s).

Visitors found this page by searching for

None

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •