preps
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dual antennas

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

Smile dual antennas

Hello Everybody!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have two antennas that I would like to mount on my roof 1 homemade jpole and a 17.5 vertical?????
    Is it possible to use the two antennas and switch back and forth. I also have 2 radios President hr2510 and a Grant xl that I would like to be able to switch back and forth. There should be a way to do this without having to run 2 coaxial lines , at least I hope there is. I hope this is not dumb idea as I am new to this hobby and need a push in the right direction.
    Hope to hear from someone \ anyone soon
    Thanks

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by SPRINTERLIGHT View Post

I have two antennas that I would like to mount on my roof 1 homemade jpole and a 17.5 vertical?????
    Is it possible to use the two antennas and switch back and forth. I also have 2 radios President hr2510 and a Grant xl that I would like to be able to switch back and forth. There should be a way to do this without having to run 2 coaxial lines , at least I hope there is. I hope this is not dumb idea as I am new to this hobby and need a push in the right direction.
    Thanks
    A coaxial switch is what you are looking for. I would be very very careful switching radios with them. You could send a full power signal right into the receive of the radio and smoke it.
    All answers are opinions and may, or may not be technically correct.

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    OK I don't want to smoke any radios. I still don't understand how you use two antennas without running another coaxial cable

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    You have to have a coaxial cable for each antenna.(2) Those go in to the switch with one coax going to the radio.
    All answers are opinions and may, or may not be technically correct.

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads