preps
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What am I doing wrong?

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

What am I doing wrong?

Hi Everyone,

I'm just starting out on my CB journey and I have antenna issues that I would like your opinions on if that's ok?

Please feel free to point out my rookie mistakes.

I have a Cobra 25 Classic (from someone on facebook) hooked up to a Firestik mounted on a 24ft painterspole which is staked into my lawn. SWR is 2.5 on all channels and nothing is received.

Here are some pictures of my efforts so far. Any help with reducing SWR and getting to hear some voices is gratefully received.

Thanks, Hankyexpress.

Name:  0909161840.jpg
Views: 966
Size:  8.99 MBName:  0909161839_HDR.jpg
Views: 949
Size:  4.76 MBName:  0909161848.jpg
Views: 939
Size:  3.23 MB

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

My Social Networking

Follow doughboy On Twitter Add doughboy on Facebook
    Visit doughboy's Youtube Channel
    1st make sure no metal above the plastic insulator touches your pole mount 2nd move the antenna as close to the top as you can better to use a right angle mirror mount if you can get one that eliminates both problems 3rd it really will not perform all that well as mobile antennas are compromise antennas they work but not as good as full blown antenna a full size steel whip mobile antenna might work a bit better

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I attempted to do the same thing and never got it to work right. I had better luck using a mag-mount antenna on the top of my car parked in the driveway and running the coax inside to the radio. I made side band contacts to Main and Cali. with this setup and a stock radio.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to FATKAT For This Useful Post:

222DBFL (09-10-2016)

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads