preps
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Here is something new to me...and strange.

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

Here is something new to me...and strange.

Ok. I will be moving in a couple of weeks and eventually setting up a base station. I plan on using a 102" whip or a homemade di-pole..simple so far. I was recently shown this devise (should have taken a pic) and this device attaches to the base of the whip itself and then to the antana stud. This little device has three (4" long) radials protruding from it all evenly spaced. I was then told to unscrew the three radial and put three 102" whip in their place to eliminate need for the ground plane coming off of the mounting bracket. This makes no sense to me as the signal would be the same as the signal from the vertical whip....and was wondering if anyone else has seen or heard of this...any input will help. I am new to the sight and noticed there are plenty here who know more than me. I have been into cb ssb for quite awhile....but don't know it all. Thanks in advance.........427 in Omaha......standing by

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    who ever told you that ..... don't listen to them anymore about antennas .

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Ok.....good enough for me....like I said it sounded like horse hockey to me.....as the wrong signal would be emitted from those radials.......thanks for the input!

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    What that modification is supposed to do is increase your signal strength. Instead of the short stubby posts that are supposed to be ground radials, you substitute some 102 inch whips. This enhances the ground wave and should also improve the SWR.

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads