preps

Thread: Hello from the west coast!

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hello from the west coast!

Hello everyone, my name is Ryan. I'm not exactly new to the CB world, but I am new to the CB mod side that I want to get into. I have a 29 NW in my truck that is just lacking. FIgured I would buy a 29 LX and see if I can't bump up the power to put in my truck. I work out of rock quarries a lot, and quite often can't communicate with them from across the pit. I can hear them just fine, but just don't have enough power to get to them clearly.

Is there a thread that has how-tos on bumping up the power and range for the 29 LX radios? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

- Ryan

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    What type of antenna are you using. Antenna height and placement are key to being able to transmit and receive worth a hoot. While adding power will help, a good antenna setup will work wonders. You’d be surprised what a difference a good antenna setup will make. Just some food for thought.

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by 222DBFL View Post
    What type of antenna are you using. Antenna height and placement are key to being able to transmit and receive worth a hoot. While adding power will help, a good antenna setup will work wonders. You’d be surprised what a difference a good antenna setup will make. Just some food for thought.

I did upgrade the antennas (last weekend) to Firestik FS-4BK 4 footers, and did an SWR tune on them, and I can hear much better, but I still can't get out worth a damn. I tried my Uniden PC68 in the truck, which was professionally tuned by a CB guy that is no longer with us, and I was getting out a long ways, so I'm pretty sure it's just the factory 29 that's in the truck right now that's just too weak. I figured if I was going to bump up a radio I would get a new one. I don't want to use my Uniden in this truck. Don't want it stolen.