preps
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New guy setting up a CB/ antenna question

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

New guy setting up a CB/ antenna question

Hey guys -

I'm new to the CB world and have a question.
    I have a Uniden CB mounted in my truck with dual Firestick KW antennas on the bed of my F150. When I check the cb with the SWR meter it shows all maxed out readings every time I key the mic. I did some research and I'm thinking the issue may be with my antennas. I did not mount them using the mounting brackets that they came with. I just drilled a hole threw the bed of the truck (behind the back window) and tightened them there. See attached pic.

Should I have used the mounts? Could this be an issue with not grounding the antennas properly?

Thanks in advance for any help.
    Logan
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Appears you have them mounted to the plastic railing that is your Bed-liner. You need to get them mounted directly to metal and not the plastic. Keep the setup as it is, but you need to get them onto some metal as that is how they see ground. Even if you use the mounting brackets, you’ll still need to get them to a proper ground. That is most likely the issue from what I can see in the pics anyhow.

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    From what I see it looks like the antennas don't really stick above the cab very much and that could mess with your SWR also. I think I would try to get the base of the antennas at least even with the top of the cab, but I'm sure the more experienced junkies will chime in. Good luck!

4. The Following User Says Thank You to whiteastro For This Useful Post:

BOOTY MONSTER (10-18-2019)

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads