preps
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: power wire question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    power wire question

    Hello. I have a mobile amp (davemade 1x4, M400) and I am powering it up with 9 foot of length, 8 gauge shredded copper wire. Should I opt for 4 gauge? Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    RICHMOND VA.
    Posts
    653
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 235 Times in 154 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    electrically 8 is fine for that length and power . if you want to go bigger for a warm fuzzy feeling it's all good too . just remember to put a big enough fuse coming off the + battery terminal to protect against a vehicle fire .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BOOTY MONSTER View Post
    electrically 8 is fine for that length and power . if you want to go bigger for a warm fuzzy feeling it's all good too . just remember to put a big enough fuse coming off the + battery terminal to protect against a vehicle fire .
    What fuse would you use for that linear? 60amp?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    N/E PA
    Posts
    560
    Thanks
    237
    Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    8 gauge wire is only rated for a 50 amp fuse. 60 amp fuse for 6 gauge wire.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Republic of Texas
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 500 Times in 314 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    When you start getting into the bigger boxs like that, "fuse's" get to be a pain...not to mention expencive.

    Try figuring out how to put a fuse inline on a 16 pill amp...and what size... not going to happen.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    RICHMOND VA.
    Posts
    653
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 235 Times in 154 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by avalanche View Post
    What fuse would you use for that linear? 60amp?
    10 amps for every real 100 watts of power is what's typically recommended .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I have a 1-2290 X 4-2879 that is rated at 1000 watts. I am going with a 4 gauge power/ground stranded copper wire. I suppose I will use a 60 or 80 amp fuse. Any more than that and I will be shutting off stuff when I key my mic is my fear.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    RICHMOND VA.
    Posts
    653
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 235 Times in 154 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    without getting into what 2879s can actually do and real watts vs dosey watts and harmonics ....... 1000 real watts should need 100 amps . but it's your money buying the fuses so have at it . the fuse is to keep the car from catching on fire , not to protect the amp .

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to BOOTY MONSTER For This Useful Post:

    whiteastro (11-28-2020)

Visitors found this page by searching for

None

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •