preps
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Radio swap crazy swr readings

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads

Radio swap crazy swr readings

Im new to the world of cb. I understand some of how things work but just a little. I drive a freightliner columbia daycab. Mirror mount 4' fiberglass no name antenna. 12' no name coax. Uniden bearcat 880, stoc mic. Im under 1.8 swr 1,20, and 40...however when i install my president richard with stock mic the swr is all over and sometimes showing over 20!!!. I am only using the internal swr meter in both radios.you can fine tune swr on bearcat but not sure you can on president richard..any help would be awesome.

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Also, when i do the diagnostic on the uniden, it shows antenna fail. And power on no tx/rx it has an alert icon in the bottom left??

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    a good starting point would be to make sure there is a GOOD ground to your mirror mount from the chassis, may have to add a extra wire... and that your antenna has the plastic washer in the correct position, Name:  AntennaMountsShortsGuide.JPG
Views: 26
Size:  51.7 KB

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 635 HogPen For This Useful Post:

Slimjim85 (03-12-2022), Turboomni (02-21-2022)

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Nearing 30 days since post and I've seen little response to thread.
    I'm WAGging it here: Bearcat 880 is a 5W DK CB radio while the President Richard is a 10M 50W PEP radio. It's the wattage I'm addressing. Is your no name 4' antenna on its last legs and poorly matched to the Tricky Dick radio? Any squeal feed back? Internal SWR meters rarely good enough for calibration purposes. The digital SWR meter on the Tricky Dick perhaps was the better measure than the Bearcat all along. You should strive for under 1.5:1.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to Alabama Buckeye For This Useful Post:

Slimjim85 (03-12-2022)

Thanks
    Downloads
    Uploads