preps
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Voltage vs Output of radio and amp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 81 Times in 72 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Voltage vs Output of radio and amp

    Hey guys. I run a President McKinley + a small RM Italy kl-203 amp. Been running it as my base station lately with a server power supply. Very quiet and seems to work well. It is at least 50 amps. My question is the power supply runs at around 12.5 volts as it is fixed. I have recently been looking at the Megawatt S-400-12 35 amp power supply mainly because of the adjustable output voltage. With my setup if I raised the input voltage from 12.5 volts to say 14 volts would my power output go up significantly or just a little? Any other gains from a higher voltage like better modulation etc?? My hope in the future is to get a RM Italy 503 for the base station to get out a little better at my poor base location and keep the kl-203 just for my truck. Any thoughts or links would be much appreciated.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    West coast
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 102 Times in 61 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Increasing the supply voltage can increase power but will take many components beyond their designed specs and result in much smoke.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mjd420nova For This Useful Post:

    Turboomni (06-07-2021)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 81 Times in 72 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes I see. I was wondering how much I am missing as when in the truck it is most likely getting 13.5 or more when running. Thanks for the reply.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    N/E PA
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Turboomni View Post
    Hey guys. I run a President McKinley + a small RM Italy kl-203 amp. Been running it as my base station lately with a server power supply. Very quiet and seems to work well. It is at least 50 amps. My question is the power supply runs at around 12.5 volts as it is fixed. I have recently been looking at the Megawatt S-400-12 35 amp power supply mainly because of the adjustable output voltage. With my setup if I raised the input voltage from 12.5 volts to say 14 volts would my power output go up significantly or just a little? Any other gains from a higher voltage like better modulation etc?? My hope in the future is to get a RM Italy 503 for the base station to get out a little better at my poor base location and keep the kl-203 just for my truck. Any thoughts or links would be much appreciated.
    Thanks

    Go to Copper Electronics and check the specs. on that RM Italy 503 you might want to buy a little bigger power supply. I thought I saw 45 amps somewhere.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to whiteastro For This Useful Post:

    Turboomni (06-08-2021)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 81 Times in 72 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    The specs for the 503 is 30 amps. But the 503 is sold out everywhere. No one has it. Even some say [like 88radio] in stock but when you check out you cannot . Send the McKinley in yet?
    Last edited by Turboomni; 06-08-2021 at 08:16 AM.

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    N/E PA
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    sent the Mckinley in and got it back already. The SSB is coming in really great but still have to get a contact on transmit. I set a buddy up a few miles away with my old 980 and a mag-mount antenna so I'll check it out with him.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to whiteastro For This Useful Post:

    Turboomni (06-09-2021)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    N/E PA
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    According to copper they recommend a 35-40 amp power supply so your not living on the edge.

    https://www.copperelectronics.com/ca...503-Mobile-Amp
    Last edited by whiteastro; 06-08-2021 at 07:39 PM.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to whiteastro For This Useful Post:

    Turboomni (06-09-2021)

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 81 Times in 72 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Well if I can ever find one for sale I may just use my present power supply.

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    N/E PA
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    Yeah seems as if this pandemic has caused a lot of shortages in a lot of areas.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to whiteastro For This Useful Post:

    Turboomni (06-09-2021)

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 81 Times in 72 Posts
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes it has. It seems to be a real problem in a wide variety of products.

    Give me updates on your McKinley too when you get a chance.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to Turboomni For This Useful Post:

    whiteastro (06-10-2021)

Visitors found this page by searching for

None

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •